Mix “Tape” Mix-Off

A long, long time ago, I can still remember, how that music used to make me smile … Oh, wait, I’m singing now.  Let me restart…

A long, long time ago, my husband and I had a lot of free time.  We now have a three year old, and an (almost) four month old.  So, free time?  Ha!  We also use to go on trips to visit family.  We don’t go on trips anymore because our daughter doesn’t like trips, and if she doesn’t like something, we no longer like something.  You people with kids know what I’m talking about…

BUT… once upon a time we did have free time AND go on trips, and I came up with a super fun idea for us to help with the long trips.  I came up with the idea for a CD-off.  It’s kind of like a dance off, but requires very little energy, which is always good with me.  We picked 10-12 albums that we both knew pretty well, and each picked our favorite song off of each album, and put those songs onto a mix CD.  I will say that this probably only works if you and whoever you are playing this game with likes the same music, because if you don’t know the music, you can’t really choose favorite albums, or pick a favorite song.  My husband and I have different overall favorites, like, if we both had the same five CDs in our car, we would most definitely be listening to different ones.  He is more The National and Spoon, and I am more Pixies and Modest Mouse.  I also love The National and I have an eh relationship with Spoon, and he also likes Pixies and is eh with Modest Mouse.  I don’t mind listening to Spoon, he doesn’t mind listening to Modest Mouse, but they wouldn’t be each others first choices.  Enough explanation?  Cool.

So, yea, we picked 12ish albums we had a pretty good knowledge and love of, we then picked our favorite song on each album and then put those 12ish songs onto a CD.  Then we’d listen to the two CD’s on the way to our destination.  It may sound silly, but it’s really fun to see what songs you have in common, and which you don’t.  Sometimes I just cannot understand how he would prefer his song pick over mine, I mean, come on, mine is obviously the best one on the album!

It’s a fun little thing to do to keep your entertained on a long car ride.  Try it out with your best friend, spouse, mom, whoever.  It’s interesting, fun, and hopefully won’t start a heated argument on why song A is so much better than song B.  (but I mean, come on, you can’t be serious?)…

Here is our first Mix-Off breakdown (we did two, if people enjoyed learning about our picks from the first one, I will do a second post featuring our second!) — Albums first, then each of our picks: (Remember, this was at least five years ago…)

Mix-Off #1

Green Day: Dookie
My Pick = She
Husband Pick = She

The National: Boxer
My Pick = Fake Empire
Husband Pick = Mistaken For Strangers

The Shins: Chutes Too Narrow
My Pick = Gone For Good
Husband Pick = Gone For Good

Weezer: The Blue Album
My Pick = Say It Ain’t So
Husband Pick = In The Garage

Pixies: Wave of Mutilation
My Pick = Alec Eiffel
Husband Pick = The Holiday Song

Vampire Weekend: Contra
My Pick = Horchata
Husband Pick = Cousins

Radiohead: OK Computer
My Pick = Exit Music (For A Film)
Husband Pick = Paranoid Android

Yeah Yeah Yeahs: Show Your Bones
My Pick = Way Out
Husband Pick = Cheated Hearts

The Whigs: Mission Control
My Pick = Production City
Husband Pick = I Got Ideas

White Stripes: White Blood Cells
My Pick = Fell In Love With A Girl
Husband Pick = Hotel Yarbo

Beck: Odelay
My Pick = The New Pollution
Husband Pick = Lord Only Knows

LCD Soundsystem: Sound of Silver
My Pick = North American Scum
Husband Pick = All My Friends

Spoon: Gimme Fiction
My Pick = The Two Sides of Monsieur Valentine
Husband Pick = The Two Sides of Monsieur Valentine

Then we picked one RANDOM song from ANYONE —
My Pick = Something Corporate: Leaving Through the Window – Straw Dog
Husband Pick = The Walkmen: Lisbon – Woe Is Me

So, out of 13 identical albums, we only had 3 albums in which we shared a favorite song.  It’s a very fun activity, if you have the time.  I very much recommend it for anyone you share a musical interest with.  Enjoy!

-Nikki

Leave a Reply

