My Very First Pattern – C2C Chick

The first time I saw a c2c pattern, I thought to myself “whoa, how on earth did someone make a picture with crochet?”  I had been making blankets and hats (not very well, I just cannot size a hat to save my life, even following a pattern), but I had never seen anything like this before.  It’s no shock to anyone familiar with crochet that I found my first c2c pattern on the Repeat Crafter Me blog, which is absolutely 100% amazeballs.  If you haven’t checked it out, do so now.  I’ll wait.  (psss… she’s on instagram and facebook too… go ahead, i’ll keep waiting).

So, I was inspired, and just so happened to have some software that might work for such a project.  You see, I also cross stitch.  Well, I mean, I used to.  I just can’t get myself to do it now that I have two kids.  One, I just know I’d lose a needle and assume it was inside of one of my kids, and two, I’m horribly slow at a cross stitching because I am a perfectionist.  I will count, double count, and triple count the stitches.  I will change the thread if the stitch doesn’t look identical to the one beside it.  It’s a long process.  I love the outcome, but I just can’t even right now, you know?  So, I’m putting my cross stitch software (PC Stitch) to good use by making some c2c patterns, and my first was a chick.

It didn’t take me long to make the pattern itself.  I started really small.  It’s only 15×15 (not inches, blocks), and it took me about 3 hours to finish the front.  I then did a solid white back and stitched them together with a single crochet stitch.  I was going to add a fancier border, but upon asking my husband if I should, he replied with “I don’t really care for those frilly borders.”  Fair enough. Plus, I was tired (I was 8.5 months pregnant at the time).  Here are some pictures of the final product…

The biggest thing I learned from this experiment is that I LOVE making c2c pictures like this.  I mean, totally love it, so much.  And also, you have so many ends to sew in.  I mean, maybe I’m doing it wrong, and there is a hidden trick, but I had just a crazy amount of ends… see…

IMG_20160308_205627

Phew.

My daughters finished Easter basket from us was filled with handmade crocheted items.  Other than this chick pillow, I made a amigurumi turtle (which I was too lazy to put legs on), eight easter eggs, and a quicky washcloth I made up.

20160327_095640

If you’d like to give this pattern a whirl, please feel free to do so!  Just remember that if you’d like to sell the finished product, link back to my blog and give me some credit, please!  Please do not publish this pattern as your own.

Just a warning, I have no idea how to make this pattern downloadable to you.  I will have to talk to my tech savvy husband about that and get back to you, if that’s something anyone is interested in!

c2c chick

I used Caron simple soft yarn in white, sunshine, neon orange, and black, and I’m almost positive I used a size H hook (don’t quote me on that).  The final squares were each 9×9 and I bought an 8×8 pillow form on Etsy to go inside.  It fit like a glove.

I hope you all enjoy this pattern.  I hope to make more to share with you!

Leave a Reply

